Shakespeare Giveaway!!!

Since February is my birth month and I enjoy the hobbit tradition of giving gifts to others on my birthday, I decided to do a February give away! And you, Dear Reader, get to enjoy the bounty!  The best part? I have not ONE item to give away- but THREE! Yes- Three Shakespeare-themed items will be going to three lucky readers! And the giveaway items are top-notch!

The first item is something I first heard about from Brandy over at Afterthoughts. The MasterPuppet Theather: World of Shakespeare is the perfect item to flesh out those Shakespearean readings. This set includes a deck of cards featuring 60 of the most famous of Shakespeare’s characters. Hamlet, MacBeth, Othello, Romeo & Juliet along with many, many other characters are included. You also receive a neat ‘backdrop set’ in front of which you can perform your plays. This is a really cool way to help your kiddos SEE the play!

Amazing narration possibilities here!

The second item is one of my favorite movies: Kenneth Brannagh’s 1993 version of ‘Much Ado About Nothing’! This is a rollicking, joyous interpretation which sparkles with the wit and wisdom of the Bard! Very watchable (a great way to introduce someone who knows nothing about Shakespeare to his works) and filled with an award-winning cast.  Now for the disclaimer: It is rated PG-13 but you will absolutely want to preview it before watching with your teenagers. There is some brief, non-sexual nudity in the opening (actually very sweet and full of joy), but there is also a brief scene wherein Hero’s maid, Margaret, ‘looks out a window’ with Borachio which is represented sexually.

Just looking at the cover reminds me of summer and happiness...

The last item of my give away is a fantastic little book called ‘Sonnets & Psalms’. Within are pages filled with- well- psalms & sonnets! Imagine waking each morning and reading a sonnet and a psalm before your feet hit the floor. This book allows the reader to explore themes common in the sonnets and in Scripture- love, grief, anger- all of life’s varying shades.

Would fit perfectly on a nightstand... or in a picnic basket...

So, here are the rules of the giveaway:

1) ‘Like’ This Side of the Door on Facebook, here.

2) Comment on the post that announces this give away and tell me why you love Shakespeare, why your kids love Shakespeare or your favorite Shakespearean scene/passage.

3) Wait for the drawing on February 29 at 9 pm EST.

It’s that easy! I don’t know that I’ll be a big one for give aways, but this opportunity was just too good to pass up.

Also, I want to invite you to look around my blog at older posts. I hope you’ll see some things you like and will be interested in joining me as I continue my Charlotte Mason/Ambleside Online adventures…

All the best and thanks for joining me!

34 Comments

Filed under Give Away/Games

34 responses to “Shakespeare Giveaway!!!

  1. eva

    I love the rich language of Shakespear, the unexpected turn of events, and his sense of humor. (Not so interested in his tragedies, I have to admit.) 😉 My children do love the Lamb versions of the plays and I look forward to reading the actual plays with them in the coming year!

    Happy Birthday! 🙂

  2. What’s NOT to love about Shakespeare? I love his universal appeal, and seeing his plays reinterpreted in so many ways. And I love that so many of his plays are set in Italy.

    I like your hobbit birthday tradition. Once as a kid I gave away presents to everyone in my family on my birthday as a surprise. It was my best birthday ever.

  3. I have enjoyed the plays I have seen in Spanish when I grew up. My favorite thing, how he deals with things that are relevant to all men, all cultures.
    Now it is our goal and challenge to discover him in English. We too have the Nesbit versions and I was thinking I truly need props for the girls, and this give away seems perfect.

  4. char

    This is our first year reading Shakespeare. We have really enjoyed Lamb & nesbit versions of the plays.

  5. Much Ado is one of my favorites, after all, DJ’s middle name IS Benedick… “What, my Lady Tongue? Are you yet living?”

  6. Jodi-Marie

    What a great Blog! I have always loved Shakespeare. My oldest, now graduated, enjoyed reading many plays out loud with our co-op. My second child is just starting on her homeschool journey so I use Beautiful Stories from Shakespeare with her. I still have fond memories of my Highschool Shakespeare class reading through MacBeth.

  7. My son and I will be in Year 4 in the fall, and will start reading the actual plays. Last week we read from Lamb’s Tales — “Measure for Measure.” James chose the opening sentence for his Copywork for the day. My favorite line from the story is from Lucio — “Our doubts are traitors and make us lose the good we might often win, by fearing to attempt it.” Deep, eh? I love those little nuggets from the Bard.

    My favorite film adaptation is probably Much Ado. You’re right about that opening scene being full of joy. I love the back and forth between Beatrice and Benedick. Branagh and Thompson played it so well. I love the “Lady Tongue” line, too, Dawn.

  8. It’s Shakespeare how could I not want these! My favorite has to be Midsummer Night’s Dream my children thought it was so silly and fun when we read it.

  9. Alonda

    We love this Much Ado About Nothing – Shakespeare done so very well!!
    Who watching this could deny Shakespeare’s brilliance?!!!!

  10. Just been directed here by your post on Amblesideonline on fb. I must have a browse around your blog. We love Shakespeare here too. I’m not sure if I qualify, being in New Zealand…

  11. Leah

    How fun! My favorite thing about Shakespeare…. does seeing my brother perform it outdoors count? 🙂 Oh, it’s all so much fun. Thanks for this great giveaway!

  12. DW

    Shalespear is still relivant today. It still speaks to my 14yo son. That is why we study it, and that’s why I still love it.

  13. I “liked” your blog on Facebook. I’d love, love, love to receive the DVD of Much Ado About Nothing!!!

  14. I love Shakespeare! I love the language! I love the poetry. I love the humor!

    My favorite line, right now, is one I use periodically — it’s from Much Ado About Nothing, where Beatrice is speaking to Benedick and says, “I wonder that you still speak. No one marks you!” (I use it to tell someone, “I’ve already answered you! Why are you still asking? (the answer was probably “No” and they wouldn’t accept it…))

  15. Janice

    We are learning as a family and will,hopefully, come to enjoy Shakespeare together. Thanks for sharing through your blog.

  16. Angela K

    “Liked” you! Shakespeare has been a part of my life since I was a young child, and my love has only increased through the years. It has now overflowed to my children, who are all budding thesbians, and can be heard quoting the Bard on any given day. Super Love!

  17. Vanessa

    I love Shakespeare and my kids are growing up thinking that Shakespeare is a normal thing to like. They don’t understand why everyone doesn’t like Shakespeare. His plays are something we share as a family and I enjoy watching my kids reactions when we go see a play. I used to worry that they wouldn’t be able to understand the language or the plot but they do. I think what I love most about Shakespeare is the fact that we can all enjoy him and his plays are timeless.

  18. Mandie

    When I was 10, my dad took me out for ice-cream and then a matinee performance of Cymbeline. It’s one of very few father-daughter events that we did without my sisters, so extra special memories. When we got home that night, I found his copy of “Complete Works” on the bookshelf, and have been hooked ever since.

    I think what makes Shakespeare great is the combination of universal plots, beautiful poetry, witty jokes and puns, and sharp insights into the depths of human thoughts (e.g. in the soliloquies). It’s hard to find all four of those elements from the same author – and he typically manages them all in the same work.

  19. Karen

    We love the rich language and the appeal Shakespeare holds for all ages and all cultures. When my husband had his third stroke, I read Much Ado About Nothing to him. He would listen longer to that than to anything else—and four days after the stroke, began retelling the parts of the play I’d read to his neurologist. His nuerologist was amazed. She’d never seen Shakespeare used as a therapy aid. (Sure beat the inane generic passages they had left for me to read to him!)

  20. First of all, Happy Birthday!

    As for Shakespeare, would you believe it? … my husband and I were reading the lines of Romeo & Juliet over lunch today: Act 2, Scene 1, after telling my daughter, “that which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.” She’ll be 5 in July! This is the first time we’ve brought the beautiful words of Shakespeare to our table, but we hope to do so more often. Your lovely give-aways wouldn’t be lost on us 🙂

    Many thanks & warm smiles,
    Glory

  21. Jennifer Brunsvold

    Hello ~ My boys are in Y2 and Y1 but we are really enjoying the Beautiful Stories from Shakespeare — I love the puppet idea, how fun is that!! Of course, one of their favorites is A Midsummer Night’s Dream. I haven’t seen the movie but would love to and the Psalms book looks wonderful as well — thanks for the giveaway.

  22. Shari P.

    My daughter (in Year 3) loves any of Shakespeare’s plays – as long as she gets to act it out with her Barbies! I love the puppet idea(so we can stop pretending the girls are boy Barbies…there’s always more male characters than boy dolls!). 🙂

  23. What a wonderful opportunity for us to add Shakespeare in our home. Or I could say that I too would enjoy a refreshing look into Shakespeare’s works.

  24. To be honest, I only remember reading 1 Shakespeare play in my life: Romeo and Juliet in high school. However, being a homeschooler, I am looking forward to exploring Shakespeare’s world through my children. This year we are planning to read “Midsummer’s Night Dream” and “Julius Caesar”! Can’t wait! 😀

  25. I just love the way he uses English! And my children enjoy the stories he tells. Thank you for offering this giveaway.

  26. What a cool giveaway! That version of Much Ado About Nothing is one of my favorite Shakespeare movies ever.

    My girls start their first encounter with Shakespeare this week (Year 1, A Midsummer Night’s Dream from Tales from Shakespeare). I remember the first Shakespeare play I read – The Taming of the Shrew in 8th grade. I love Shakespeare because, though so many people perceive him to be stuffy and pretentious, he is really down-to-earth, insightful, and often wickedly funny. I think too many people (like my husband) have bad experiences from high school English classes that they never get over. 😦

  27. We love reading Shakespeare! Wonderful quotes & timeless stories! And attending the plays live is the best part!! I was so proud to take my 5 year old to Twelfth Night, have him be the only child there, & have him laughing at the right times!

  28. We are just starting to study Shakespeare and everyone is loving it from my 14yo to my 8 yo. I love all the rich language and seeing my children appreciating Shakespeare at younger ages. I found it boring in school and am so glad that I have the chance to experience it again as an adult.

  29. rickeychristy@yahoo.com

    We are just starting Shakespeare. Just this morning, we finished The Winter’s Tale, by Lamb and loved it.

  30. liked you on fb. We love Shakespeare! I love that my young children will play Shakespeare plays with their friends, and have to explain the entire play to their friends. It’s amazing to listen to and watch.

  31. My kids are getting into Shakespeare and we would all have fun with one of these prizes.

  32. Renee

    Kids LOVE shakespeare, if they can’t find anything else to use to act out the readings they use pencils:) I will have to look into the finger puppets…thanks for this!

  33. We have WINNERS!!!! 🙂 Congratulations ladies! Be sure to message me your info so I can get your prizes to you!

    Psalms & Sonnets goes to: Karen Guidry!!
    Much Ado About Nothing goes to: Sarah Lancaster!!
    MasterPuppet Theater goes to: Leah O’Gwynn Cackley!!

Leave a Reply

